An Hour for Pope Francis – Help!

Pope Francis obelisk saint peter

4:00–5:00 AM daily the Pope’s time (following daylight savings time in the country where he happens to be around the world) is being dedicated to praying special prayers for the Holy Father. May he begin each day dedicated to Jesus and free from diabolical assault. Join in at that time if you can for as long as you can. Your prayers are helpful anytime. When it’s 4:00 AM in Rome, it is:

  • 2:00 AM Sierra Leone
  • 3:00 AM London / Bangui
  • 5:00 AM Jerusalem / Nairobi
  • 7:00 AM Dushanbe
  • 7:30 AM Mumbai
  • 9:00 AM Bangkok
  • 10:00 AM Shanghai
  • 11:00 AM Seoul / Ulaanbaatar / Yakutsk
  • 12:00 Noon Sydney
  • 2:00 PM Christchurch
  • 4:00 PM Honolulu
  • 5:00 PM Rikitea
  • 6:00 PM Adamstown
  • 7:00 PM Los Angeles / Destruction Bay
  • 8:00 PM Denver / Sinaloa / Hanga Roa
  • 9:00 PM Chicago / Cité Soleil
  • 10:00 PM New York / Havana
  • 11:00 PM Buenos Aires / Rio de Janeiro

Suggestion (1):

V: Oremus pro Pontifice nostro Francisco.

R: Dominus conservet eum, et vivificet eum, et beatum faciat eum in terra, et non tradat eum in animam inimicorum eius.

Oremus: Deus, omnium fidelium pastor et rector, famulum tuum Franciscum, quem pastorem Ecclesiae tuae praeesse voluisti, propitius respice: da ei, quaesumus, verbo et exemplo, quibus praeest, proficere: ut ad vitam, una cum grege sibi credito, perveniat sempiternam. Per Christum, Dominum nostrum. Amen.

V: Let us pray for our Pontiff Francis.

R: May the Lord preserve him, and give him life, and make him blessed upon the earth, and deliver him not up to the will of his enemies.

Let us pray: O God, Shepherd and Ruler of all Thy faithful, look mercifully upon Thy servant Francis, whom Thou hast chosen as shepherd to preside over Thy Church: grant him, we beseech Thee, that, by word and example, he may edify those over whom he hath charge, so that together with the flock committed to him, he may attain everlasting life. Through Christ, our Lord. Amen.

Suggestion (2): Emergency Chaplet of the Immaculate Conception using the Rosary:

At the beginning:

  • Sign of the Cross
  • Sanctus, sanctus, sanctus…
  • Chaste guardian of the Virgin, Saint Joseph: pray for us.
  • All you saints and angels of God: pray for us.
  • Our best friends, our guardian angels: pray for us.

For the chaplet itself:

  • On the “Our Father” beads: The act of contrition you recite during Confession.
  • On the “Hail Mary” beads: O Mary conceived without sin: pray for us who have recourse to thee.

At the conclusion:

  • Memorare
  • Saint Michael Prayer
  • Sacred Heart of Jesus: Have mercy on us. (x3)

We love you to pieces Pope Francis!

6 Comments

Filed under Missionaries of Mercy, Pope Francis

6 responses to “An Hour for Pope Francis – Help!

  1. Pingback: ACTION ITEM! Coordinated prayer for Pope Francis against diabolical attack | Fr. Z's Blog

  2. sanfelipe007

    O.K! I’m in. After all, I try to live at the Lord’s pleasure. Setting my alarm clock right now. Now let’s hope I remember why I set it!

  3. Me too, I’m in. I think that means I will be praying for him at 10p.m. …. If I have the right time zone.

  4. Carmel

    Wonderful idea, Father George. And it suits me VERY well as Its midday here when it’s 4am in Rome (thank you for the time conversion). I will offer the Angelus for him and, because the Angelus app on my phone reminds me, I will likely be pretty consistent😊

  5. Maria Stella

    Father, is there any way you can “pin” this, so it is still visible o people who visit your site when you post other posts?

  6. Pam

    This is an inspired idea, Father. I am going to participate in this. I also went to Father Z’s blog and read his post, after you had contacted him, which was highly supportive and gave more food for thought. He spoke of all the priests who used to pray for the Pope “with great frequency” and how all over the world people would kneel after Mass and pray the Leonine Prayers — “once upon a time.” Father Z also had some very positive comments in response.

    How wonderful if this would spread all over the world!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s